Congratulations to our 2017 Award Winners!

Uploaded Image: /uploads/congratulations.jpg

We are excited to announce the winners of the NYSOA's 2017 awards! Congratulations to all and thank you for all that you do to support the profession of optometry.

Optometrist of the Year

David Ciccone, OD 

In recognition of his innovative efforts to promote the health and welfare of student athletes at Syracuse University.


Young Optometrist of the Year

Marina Su, OD, FAAO

In recognition of her exemplary service to organized optometry and her mentorship of graduate students in the SUNY College of Optometry Residency Program.


Optometric Educator of the Year

Julia Appel, OD, FAAO

In recognition of her exemplary service as an educator, researcher and clinician.


Public Service Award

Richard Malara, OD

In recognition of his humanitarian service to those in need of eye care, both overseas and at home.


Abram A. Hubal, OD Student Service Award

Michael T. Wallerich

In recognition of his service as President of the Student Society of the New York State Optometric Association, Inc.


« Back to News & Publications