2022-23 Regional Trustees


Sandip Patel, OD
Warby Parker
Mineola, NY


Dr. Jason ComptonJason Compton, OD, FAAO
Compton Eye Associates
Manhattan and Bronx, NY


Dr. Thuy TranBryan Wolynski, OD, FAAO
Lighthouse Guild International
New York, NY



Michael Bywater, OD
Highland Optometry
Highland, NY


Angela Marx, OD
Roberts Eyecare Associates
Vestal, NY



Dr. Vadim GuyVadim Guy, OD
Family Vision Center
Rochester, NY


Richard Malara, OD
Malara Eyecare & Eyeware Gallergy 
Liverpool, NY



About the NYSOA Regional Trustees

Regional Trustees are responsible for serving as liaisons between the Board of Trustees and the local societies they represent by attending meetings and maintaining close communications with these societies and their leadership. Regional Trustees serve as voting members of the Board of Trustees and take on other duties as deemed appropriate by the Board and President. Trustees also attend all Board Meetings of the NYSOA.

The state has been divided into three separate regions, each including a number of trustees reflective of the number of members in each area. Regions are as follows:

  • Region 1: Metropolitan
    Consisting of OSCONY, SUNYCO, Nassau and Suffolk Societies
    Three elected Trustees
  • Region 2: Hudson-Mohawk
    Consisting of WRP, Hudson Valley, Eastern, Mohawk Valley, Northern and South Central Societies
    Two elected Trustees
  • Region 3: Finger Lakes-Niagara
    Consisting of Central, Rochester, Western, and Southern Tier Societies
    Two elected Trustees

Trustees each serve staggered three-year terms, with two Trustee terms expiring each year. The initial election of Regional Trustees assigned one-, two- or three-year terms to the Trustee positions to stagger the expiration date of these offices.